Philly Zine Fest, November 9, 2014

By Bianca Alu-Marr

This years Philly Zine Fest was held at The Rotunda as always, and put together by the ever hard-working Casey Grabowski. The vendor attendance was lighter than usual, but that didn’t matter at all because everyone who did attend had quality zines and wonderful personalities. I attended this year with my talented friend Meg Eubank who is a prize-winning photographer and all-around creative soul. We made two zines together and had some of our own zines and crafts as well.

10393872_10152570056073661_6018961784423084645_nClick the photo to see more images from the show on the Comicverse Facebook page.

As usual, I was fascinated and envious of all of the creative personal styles of the attendees, from colorful hair to creative outfits, and I wished I was in my 20’s again so I could wear all of them without looking out of my element. A lazy Sunday, the crowd took their time rolling in, but when they did it was magic. I was very happy to sell copies of my poetry chapbook and it seemed like several people were in search of poetry this year. Good news for poets! Meg and I also sold several copies of our collaborative zines which made us very happy.

Steve Peters showed up and added to the happiness of the day, doing interviews (see below) using one of the Ying stuffies made by the uber-talented Evette Makes Things. Dre Grigoropol interviewed me as well for her podcast! Meg and I both loved interacting with the other vendors and getting to know about their motivations and day jobs, and bought ourselves a slew of wonderful zines. Werdy Girl was there and it was great to see her again after meeting her at Locust Moon Comics Festival. Another highlight was seeing Elvis again, who is always so sweet and was draped in colorful garlands. I bought some more chapters of Homos in Herstory for my collection. And of course seeing Corey Bechelli, Sammy Shuster and their baby (who is the chillest baby that ever lived) made my day! Another awesome Zine Fest attended! Daydreaming about my next zine already!

YING’S PHILLY ZINE FEST INTERVIEWS

About thecomicverse

Steve Peters received a Xeric Grant in 1996, which he used to self-publish Awakening Comics. In 2006, he won the Gene Day Memorial Prize for a magical realist comic called Chemistry. He met Bianca Alu-Marr at an open mic in 2003 (Steve was playing music and doing the sound, Bianca was reading her poetry). The Comicverse is one of many projects they have collaborated on, and their most popular. Bianca is the writer and and Steve is the artist. Sometimes Bianca writes and plots the stories; many stories are co-plotted by Bianca and Steve.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

